Blog’s it all about?

Posted: August 7, 2010 in Blogging
Tags: , , ,

God, I love this blogging business!  It’s only four days since I started my very first blog and already I’m addicted.  I used to spend hours on Facebook, updating my status, responding to comments, searching for new statuses to add my thoughts to; now it barely gets a look in.  As soon as I get up in the morning my mind starts thinking of possible stories for today’s post.  By the time I get to work I already have several ideas of what I could write about and it’s not long before they start bumping into each other, vying for the top space, hoping to make it onto my blog.  Sometimes it’s hard to concentrate because all I really want to be doing is updating my blog!  As soon as I have chance I log into my account and start writing a draft of my new post.  I know I’m not the best writer in the world; I don’t have much to say that is of any importance; my posts are not overtly intelligent, witty, funny or insightful and my knowledge of the english language appears limited compared to other bloggers.  But still I write in the hope that maybe one day someone will read my blog and find something in it that interests them or makes them think or perhaps just makes them chuckle for a second or two. 

And yet, I see the very real dangers of becoming ensconced in a virtually virtual world, writing for an audience that you will never know, never see, never truly understand.  The Internet is surely a haven for people with limited social skills – if it’s not possible to gain respect and appreciation in real life then you can log onto the Internet and find it there.   Anonymous producers of words which may or may not be truthful can find comfort from ego boosting comments on their ramblings; people you would never converse with in real life suddenly appear interesting and exciting when you read their innermost thoughts on the internet.  You could be a social hermit or obese recluse in real life but on the Internet you can be anyone your imagination allows you to be.   And therein lies the problem.  Blogging, Facebooking, Tweeting (I could go on!) may be mentally stimulating as well as a quick and easy way of getting your thoughts out to the world but it also encourages solitude and deceptively social but only virtual interaction.  Ever since the advent of email and the World Wide Web the world has been virtually shrinking but the distance between us as people has been growing.  Why go and talk to someone when you can send them an email?  Why meet a friend when you can Facebook them or follow their tweets?   I’m afraid I am as guilty of this as the next person but I am happy to say that it is mostly because I’m so busy in real life, not just in virtual life, that I’m left struggling to keep up with everything.  My blogging promise to myself is that I don’t become so addicted to divulging my random thoughts to all and sundry that I forget I have a life!    

I know that probably no-one will read this post once I hit the publish button but even so my thoughts will be out there, floating in the Internet Ether, ready to be read by anyone across the globe who happens across it at any time.  That’s quite a scary thought!  Still the point is that all this virtual interaction has a place in today’s society – we acknowledge and accept its limitations, its dangers but revel in the opportunities it offers us to connect with people, to be taught and to be the teacher.  And if it provides an outlet for those to whom life has been unkind and allows them to express thoughts that they could never do in real life or to real people then surely the world is a richer place for it.

Comments
  1. Walker says:

    I think you’ve nicely summarized much of what happens here in blog world. I have discovered people hiding, sometimes not so nicely, behind their internet ‘presence’.
    Glad to see that you’re persevering… blogging is pretty fun. Best of luck.

    By the way, loved the blue lycra story.

  2. CatFru says:

    Thank you so much for your comments. Blogging may be strange in some respects but it is indeed fun! If a little time consuming…!

Leave a Reply

